About Education Matters Yearbook

Book Title: Ireland’s Yearbook of Education 2017-2018
Editor: Brian Mooney
Publisher: Education Matters
Pages: 416
ISBN: 978-0-9956987-1-0
Available to download online

Over the last ten years, Education Matters Yearbook has established itself as the indispensable guide to the world of education in Ireland, bridging the gap between practitioners, managers, researchers and policy-makers. Published each December, the Yearbook informs, guides and inspires educationalists across all sectors to reflect on their goals and become more successful in their profession.

This year’s edition contains articles by pioneers and specialists in education including contributions from Prof Brian Mac Craith, Prof John Sweeney, Prof Tom Collins, Peter Cassells, Dr Thomas Walsh, Dr Katherine Zappone, Dr Neil O’Connell, Dr Brian Fleming, Dr Declan Fahie, Tomás Ó Ruairc, John Walsh, Dr Selina McCoy, Dr Derek Walsh, Dr Eucharia Meehan, Prof Orla Feely, Maire Geoghegan Quinn, Dr Iain MacLaren. Topics addressed include: Pádraig Pearse the educationalist; A vision for the Irish language; Entrepreneurial thinking in education; Stress, resilience and quality of teachers’ lives; The transition from primary to secondary school mathematics; Teachers’ resistance to junior cycle reform; What could be wrong with senior cycle education; How private colleges can contribute to solving the funding dilemma in Higher Education; Teachers as researchers and consumers of research.

Some articles from Education Matters Yearbook 2016-2017 have been published on Creative Commons. You can download these free articles here


Phyllis Mitchell [email protected]

Brian Mooney [email protected]


Padraig Barnes, Inspector, Department of Education & Skills
Clive Byrne, Director, National Association of Principals & Deputy Principals (NAPD)
Elaine Hynes, Training & Practice Manager, Early Childhood Ireland
Pairic Clerkin, CEO Irish Primary Principals’ Network (IPPN)
John Curtis, General Secretary, Joint Managerial Body (JMB)
Nikki Gallagher, Director of Communications & Secretariat, SOLAS
Nuala Harding, Lecturer, Athlone Institute of Technology
Siobhan Keegan, National Service Coordinator, Better Start
Moira Leydon, Assistant General Secretary, ASTI
Dr Anne Looney, Executive Dean, Institute of Education, Dublin City University, St Patrick’s Campus, D9
Dr Selina McCoy, Coordinator for Education Research at the ESRI and Adjunct Professor at Trinity College Dublin
Claire McGee, Senior Innovation and Education Policy Executive, Ibec
Ian McKenna, Director, St Nicholas Montessori College Ireland
Dr Eucharia Meehan, Director, Irish Research Council
Pat O’Mahony, Education Research Officer, Education & Training Boards Ireland (ETBI)